top of page

thoughts

Whilst beginning to create content from my friends and family about their 'objectifications' of feelings of anxiety, alongside further conversations about the subject, I have decided that I feel more tied to turning these questions back onto myself. This feels, obviously, more personal and explorative rather than using other peoples experience and creating a more interview or editorial based style of publication. This is something I'd really like to gain from this fmp... a better sense of self and my design practice - and how these can tie in together and represent one another equally.


After seeing previous years' FMP work, I found the most personal, candid and cathartic projects to be the ones which most stood out to me. Film work seems to be an important part of this - as film is such an effective way to represent a mood rather than something 2d. If I have enough time during the remaining 5 weeks of this project, I'd like to see if I can experiment with film to depict the things which help me the most when I'm anxious, or even the specific things which trigger or exacerbate these feelings.


I feel that making this project more about me and my anxiety will allow me to work independently also. My previous project for YCN and for editorial design, I worked mored socially and engaged lots of other thoughts, people and interviews - however for this project I would like to focus more on my own, independent, thoughts and practice.


I've decided to keep using the objectifyinganxiety tumblr page as a place for submissions - seeing as I have sent out my questions and rationale to others - I want to still credit their thoughts and find it extremely interesting to read what people's 'weird' habits are.

From here on, I need to continue researching art books/publications to gain inspiration for how I would like my book to look and feel - paper stocks, sizes etc. I have also ordered some cyanotype liquid so need to start experimenting with that to create some prints of objects.Most importantly, by the end of this week I plan to pin down exactly my responses to these questions.

What makes me feel comfortable when I'm overwhelmed by anxiety?

Which objects, environments, people or places help to give me a sense of ‘home comfort’ when I need it the most?

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page