top of page

research

FILM


Films set or based on or in water - inspired by my feelings of calm whilst swimming.



IMAGE


Thomas Brown (photographer) for Real Review 5

If doubt is central to modernity, it has also become a powerful contemporary condition. Societal levels of anxiety are rising. Insecurity is now a generalised condition. Concern that civilisation itself is on the brink of some cataclysmic change is ubiquitous. In this sense, doubt has both positive and negative qualities: without it we would not have the modern world; but its is also now undermining that modernity. This issue of Real Review is dedicated to systemic doubt.

I love the lighting and texture of these material photographs. As fabric and tactility is such an important aspect in comfort, I'd love to try and convey the quality of these photographs within my photography to depict the surfaces and objects which give me comfort, for example the scans of my t-shirts below could be improved by using lighting in the way that Thomas Brown has done here.

In print, these photographs have a quality enhanced by the glossy paper of the Real Review, so I'd be interested in experimenting with some coated/glossy paper stocks to gain this quality within my book.


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page