top of page

bold type sketches

Updated: Feb 8, 2019

Initial sketches


Illustrator sketches

I like the lower line of type from these initial sketches. The rounded edges and interesting shapes of the bowls in the letters create an interesting, quite playful typeface. I also prefer working with lowercase forms rather than uppercase so I will be setting up my typeface as 26 lowercase characters.


Using an existing typeface in Illustrator (Futura black) to help with baseline/cap height/ascenders/descenders and letterforms.



Clear differences between my typeface and the existing.


Exporting these drawings into Glyphs using the bounds taken (shown in the above images) from Futura black.

I am really happy with the general design and feeling of this typeface. There are a few characters which I feel I need to work on, as this typeface works well up/down and not so well in the diagonal such as the k, v, w and s.

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page