top of page

het weekend amsterdam

Updated: Feb 8, 2019

On a recent trip to Amsterdam I found lots of inspiration from the Dutch graphic design and typefaces on the streets around me. For example, the iconic 'iamsterdam' sign, in lowecase Avenir. The sign has recently been removed from Museumplein, due to Amsterdam locals feeling "it became a symbol of the mass tourism that made them feel as if they were living and working in an attraction park; a symbol of the darker side of individualism." - https://fontsinuse.com/uses/24233/i-amsterdam-2004-2017

I found it really interesting how type - or an installation including type - can cause such a stir within a city and brand something which really doesn't need branding.

Wim Crouwel's iconic Stedelijk design, and designers works for the gallery since.


De School is a club in Amsterdam-West located in a formal technical school. Below is the design identity for the club and its events. During my trip to Amsterdam I went to an event - het weekend, meaning 'the weekend' in Dutch. I'd like my type specimen and poster to reflect this design style, as I think my typeface seems to have a relatively prominent Dutch style. I may recreate a poster for the 'het weekend' event I attended.


Translations - ideas for some Dutch text on the poster/type specification




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page