top of page

elliot

Updated: Jan 31, 2019

To create an editorial photoshoot for Homely magazine, I got together with my friend Elliot, a 3rd year textiles student at Chelsea. I wanted to explore how we surround ourselves and our rented homes with beautiful objects, perhaps to lessen the pain of our bank accounts every month. His work spans multiple materials and disciplines, most recently making, by hand, some beautiful plates and other ceramics.


Recent works


Below are a few questions I asked Elliot, and some photographs I took on film of his work.

What is home to you?


Home to me is wherever I’m living at that time- I manage to settle myself and create that ‘home’ feeling wherever I’m living. The house I’m living in now is my 16th house in 22 years and my 12th rental, so I’ve just had to adapt over the years and try to create a personal space with whatever I have.

Living in furnished rentals, you always get quirky features and strange furniture, but I just try to make my space a comfortable, clean and calm environment with the stuff I have.

Home is also where I’ve come from - I’ve lived all over Hampshire in my childhood and that area to me is my nostalgic memory of home.


How would you describe your practice?


My practice is research based, focusing on a sustainable approaches to material experimentation and environmental concerns. I’m quite an inquisitive person & I love to let ideas evolve and expand beyond a project to see where else they can lead to.


As a designer/student living in London, what do you think of the rental market/your renting experience?

It’s very expensive, obviously. My entire student loan goes on my rent and it’s really shit when the rental isn’t worth it - It just feels like a waste of money. My previous and current landlord’s have all been from out of town, so there is a tendency to feel forgotten about, which adds to that shitty waste of money feeling. But unfortunately that’s just how it is for everyone. It just becomes a transactional process that can leave you feeling a bit empty, which is weird considering you invest your love and energy into making this property into your home. I always find it a bit weird when you can’t even put a nail in the wall to hang a picture up in case you get fucked over with your deposit. But yeah, that’s just how it is. Either put up or shut up

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page