top of page

cyanotypes

Updated: Jun 5, 2019

Instructions with cyanotype kit -


Objects to expose and exposing the sheets outside once painted the chemical onto paper:


This first attempt didn't go too well as I think the paper had too much synthetic content stopping the chemical to absorb properly and develop in light. Also I may need to wait longer for the chemical to dry and perhaps add another layer before exposing into the sunlight.


Second try -

I used watercolour paper so that the chemical is absorbed better into the paper before exposing the objects. I also allowed the chemical to dry overnight before exposing which I think seemed to fix the components better meaning that the results were better.


Time lapse of cyanotype developing in sunlight


My favourite prints - I love how the textile elements are so detailed you can almost see every fibre in some of these.

After I got to grips with the technique I felt more confident with making the cyanotypes so did some more experimentation.


Later cyanotype prints - more developed colour came with trial and error - also with different technique/paper stocks and amounts of chemicals with the developing times etc etc etc.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page