top of page

bold type influences

Updated: Feb 8, 2019

Type foundry research for my type design.


PYTE FOUNDRY

Plakat

Overdose

Overdone


KLIM

Maelstrom

I love the high contrast in this typeface. The poster showing Maelstrom in use shows how the letter forms can create a beautiful, almost sculptural effect once stacked on top of eachother. I also really like the use of 2 colours to keep the design of the poster simple and show the letterforms best.


Maelstrom Sans


SHARP

Beatrice

High contrast again, with more rounded letterforms and variation in the different versions of the typeface. I like the variations in the O between the high contrast and the reverse high contrast, turning the bowl of the letter 90 degrees to give a more 'futuristic' feel.


Stencil type

MUIRMCNEIL

Five - stencil typeface


Wolfgang Weingart


Wim Crouwel

Wim Crouwel designed all of the graphic work for the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam from1963 to 1985, the Stedelijk is my favourite European art gallery. I feel the design identity is the most recognisable and definitive. Also exhibitions and collections at the gallery are always extremely well curated. I love his use of block colour and simple forms and concepts to create a typeface.

The time period this Stedelijk work was created was also a really important time for graphic design. The simplicity of these posters is also something I'd really like to carry on for my poster showcasing my completed typeface.


PROGETTARE INPIÙ Magazine

Quarterly design magazine edited by Ugo La Pietra Typeface and page layouts.


Poster inspiration



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page