top of page

patrick thomas

Today I participated on a workshop with designer Patrick Thomas. Patrick is a graphic designer based in Berlin. He studied CSM and then went to the Royal College. I've been a fan of Patrick's work for a while, following his work on Instagram it seems he is constantly creating. I was lucky enough to be selected for the workshop and really enjoyed it - seeing how Patrick works immediately with only an office printer was extremely inspiring, as it's something we could be doing easily at home.


Patrick's work - https://patrickthomas.com/ Instagram - @xpatrickthomas

We spent the day creating A4 posters and reprinting our designs on top of each other to create collaborative posters. The outcome was really interesting, as the grids we were given were so strict, designs worked really well on top of each other. At the end of the day we stuck all the posters up and projected details from the posters back on to them, which created a really interesting and more immersive experience.


As a starting point, we were asked to select a historical or contemporary figure and some quotes from this person. I decided to use Tracey Emin as I love her romantic neon signs - not particularly in form but I love the quotations used. I selected imagery from the day's newspapers and some of my previous work. The current storm Freya was a great source of images relating to the ocean and fear - as some of Emin's quotes included.


My favourite outcomes from the process -


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page