top of page

monologue

Updated: Dec 10, 2018

"I guess what I’m trying to describe to you, starts with just tuning in to your surroundings and watching people – the old ladies, little babies, the mums and the dads, the people riding their bikes and the taxi drivers beeping their horns, the runners and the coffee drinkers – all the people separate from one another, doing their own thing and moving at their different paces, some in a hurry, some happy being late. I don’t know them and they don’t know me. I guess it started when I began wondering about their lives, what their names were and where they were going. What I found was that when I sat on the top of that double decker bus, tuning out from my own journey and tuning into the guys down below - the one stood at the bus stop with the red scarf on. Or that girl with the yellow backpack on, crossing the road. They would notice me staring and look back.I could never work this out – how could they sense me watching them? It’s like everyone has this sixth sense that makes them respond, despite it being only seconds long. Making eye contact with a stranger made me feel strangely hopeful - for a moment it was just the two of us. My journey didn’t matter: the fact I was late to work, had spilt coffee down my shirt or that you had kept me and your mum up all night ‘cause you were teething. It made me realise that everyone isn’t as detached as we think. Whilst I don’t know their names, where they’re heading or where they’re coming from, I feel as though I understand them a little better now."

New script in a monologue form rather than the conversation between father and son previously. I think this will work better running alongside the visuals and music. As i stated previously, the voices and mood of the previously voiceover wasn't quite right for our film. Also there is now more space and inspiration for visuals relating to the spoken text.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page